Skip to content

Let’s get organised!

February 2, 2010

Food storage tubs – you may be thinking what a boring topic for your first blog article, but I am going to prove you wrong!

Sorry, I am being incredibly rude, I should introduce myself before I start sharing my love of the world of fantastic plastic storage devices! I am Jenny, a 20 something vegetarian, Love Food Hate Waste campaign officer and now, first time home owner who up until last month was still living with her Mum and Dad.

I have learnt a lot in my first month of “grown up” living – learning how to paint, how to measure for a sofa, how to pay bills and take meter readings, but more importantly, how expensive food shopping is. Working on the Love Food Hate Waste campaign I am very aware of food waste and the cost, not just to our pockets, but also to the environment. But, what I don’t think I fully comprehended was how much food actually costs to buy in the first place. I was in shock at the £2.50 for the block of cheese and £1.40 for a roll of tin foil. I have clearly been living in blissful ignorance while my poor parents footed the bill.

You may be wondering how this relates to food storage tubs, but I promise I am getting there. After an almost cookie disaster (a slightly open packet of delicious cookies had begun to go soft, don’t worry they were still delightful for dunking, but maybe not the best by themselves), I knew it was time to take a trip to a well known Swedish flat pack furniture emporium to go on the search for my own cookie storage solutions.  I fortunately stumbled across a 32 piece pack of food storage tubs for £2.50, which I decided were vital for the “flat”. These tubs come in a vast variety of different sizes and I feel are the answers to all my money saving food waste prayers!

After getting them home, the cupboard organisation began.  My long grain rice, which had been precariously sealed up with an elastic band, is now is sitting elegantly in a slim line oblong container, my raisins now have their own square tub and my muesli now lives in a lovely square one. In fact, anything that should be stored in an airtight fashion, now is! My once cluttered cupboards are now orderly and organised. Not only can I see instantly what I have, but I can also rest assured that all my food, which I have spent my hard earned money on, is safely preserved in its own airtight container, rather than spoiling and having to be thrown out.

Fantastic plastic storage devices!

In Scotland we throw away a staggering £1 billion worth of food every year, that’s an average of £430 per household. However, through simple steps, like storing our food correctly, we can begin to put those lost pennies back in our pockets.

The world of amazing plastic devices isn’t just restricted to the cupboards – they are a great way to carry your lunch to work. Today my lunch bag consisted of a variety of colourful tubs, I had a small square one housing a couple of cookies, a larger tub housing the remains of last night’s quiche, a tiny tub with some cherry tomatoes, an oval container storing my yogurt and a smaller tub with some berries to mix in. I have to admit, I did smile like a Stepford wife as I showed off my large array of Tupperware. Not only has this made my lunch arrive waste free and safely at the office in one piece (all berries and tomatoes arrived unbashed, cookies were perfectly crunchy and last night’s quiche still tasting lovely and fresh), but I have also calculated that it has saved me some pennies too! On average a sandwich bag would cost you 3.5p, for my lunch and snacks today I would have needed 5 bags which would have cost me 18p. Not much I hear you say, but when you multiply that by 5 lunches a week, you’re at 90p, and multiply that by 52 weeks, you would be spending almost £50 a year (£46.80 to be precise). And that’s before you’ve even added the cost of buying the food items in the first place!

Now I’m sure you would all agree the world of storage tubs gets a lot more interesting!

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : post to facebook

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    February 2, 2010 12:58 pm

    Hi totally agree – storage tubs are great. I’ve got really small ones that are brilliant for children’s snacks. I use them instead of buying those small boxes of raisins and sometimes put Philadelphia or humous in one and breadsticks in another for a ‘dips’ snack.

    • Jenny Sim permalink
      February 3, 2010 10:21 am

      Thanks for the comment Jennifer, I agree I am loving the smaller tubs too. They are a great way to make sure you get the perfect snack sized portion, rather than taking too much and either over eating or wasting. I will try out your humous idea tomorrow for my lunch!

  2. Gemma permalink
    February 2, 2010 1:35 pm

    Love the blog! I am a also a big storage fan and is fab for freezing left overs. I am also very impressed by your cupboard…looks fab. You have inspired me!
    Thanks…love the blogs….keep up the hard work.

    • Jenny Sim permalink
      February 3, 2010 10:25 am

      I’m pleased you enjoyed the article Gemma and thanks for the cupboard compliment!

  3. Val permalink
    February 2, 2010 5:33 pm

    Great blog, great photo!
    I only had one storage box for my lunch yesterday and my apple got bashed in my bag – might have to take myself off to a well known Swedish flat pack furniture emporium to find some more storage boxes!
    Also love the well labelled boxes – very organised!

    • Jenny Sim permalink
      February 3, 2010 10:32 am

      Thanks for the compliment Val! Storage tubs are a great way to carry your fruit and stop it getting bashed. Kim, one of my colleagues in the office takes her kiwi’s to work in very small storage tubs not only does it look very cute but it ensures that they always arrives in one piece.

  4. February 2, 2010 8:59 pm

    You can also reuse glass jars for storage. I try to buy sauce that comes in a mason jar, so I can fit a standard canning lid on it. Some people try to avoid storing food in plastic for long periods of time, so glass is the perfect solution. It looks pretty too.

    • Jenny Sim permalink
      February 3, 2010 10:40 am

      Thanks for the comment Jen, you’re right glass jars also make great storage solutions and I am sure would make a lovely addition to any cupboard! I’ll keep that in mind next time I do my supermarket shop!

Leave a Reply

