Skip to content

Have a wonderful wastefree summer!

July 9, 2010

Don’t you just love summer? A fabulous excuse to eat lots of ice cream, go on spontaneous day trips, enjoy impromptu picnics in the park and of course it’s the season that most of us try and organise a few days away for a little holiday!

I love ice cream!

This summer season remember not to neglect an important member of your household – one I think we would all agree we would struggle to live without – and that is of course our fantastic fridges and freezers!

In summer it’s often a bit harder to stick to your meal plans. Let’s face it, if it’s a gorgeous sunny day, a sumptuous salad looks far more appealing that a hot curry even if our meal plan says that’s what we should be eating!

So what’s the solution to this summer dilemma? The key is to be flexible and adaptable when it comes to meal planning. Have some batch meals ready and waiting in the freezer that you can easily bring out for when the weather puts a dampener on BBQ plans or picnics. The freezer is an ideal storage solution after planned meal menus have been abandoned because of a spontaneous day trip. When shopping look out for items that are suitable for home freezing, so if your plans change you don’t have to worry about waste.

Remember when getting ready for your holidays to include your cupboards and fridge on your pre-holiday checklist. If you know you’re going to be away for a while remember to try and use up the items that will spoil or go off before you return. If you’re not going to manage to eat an item before you go, maybe you could freeze it or if all else fails offer it out to friends and neighbours?

My holidays begin tomorrow, and after doing a fridge check I discovered a few lemons, raspberries, blackberries, milk and eggs, which I knew wouldn’t be edible by the time I returned. Now rather than let these items go to waste I decided to whip up some easy berry and lemon cupcakes which I based on a fab recipe on the Love Food Hate Waste web site.

I decided to freeze a few of them (so next time I organise a tea party for me and the girls I won’t have to bother with the baking) and the rest I gave out to my family who were most grateful – problem solved!

With a little extra thought and planning we can reduce the amount of food waste we produce and save some pennies along the way, which I am sure we would all much rather have for holiday spending money!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 1:26 pm

    What a brilliant post. I’m definitely one for batch cooking and freezing, one meal for now, another for later. Do this for a few days and you’ll soon have some cook-free nights in your diary, which means you can spend longer enjoying these wonderful summer nights we’re having. I’m also growing my own vegetables, so am planning to prepare and freeze some of these for use in the autumn, particularly runner beans. Just prepare, blanch, bag up and label (of course, I use Count On It labels so I can easily keep track when they were first frozen) – the perfect, tasty, nutritious accompaniment to a sunday roast.

    • Jenny Sim permalink
      July 9, 2010 1:39 pm

      Thanks Lyndsey, love being able to get a few cook-free nights in when you can. It sounds that this is really working for you.

      Good luck with the growing of your veg. They will be loving the sun and the rain we have been having of late.

      Have a great summer!

Leave a Reply

